Great things I’ve read on the internet this week

Here are some great things I have read on the internet this week:

Stop reading my blog by Michael Perkins (@MichaelDPerkins)

This is the best blog post that I read this week. For a start, I love the title. It takes courage to give your blog this title!

Michael Perkins makes the point that reading a blog should never replace reading God’s word. Read this post and be motivated to turn the computer off and read the Bible.

5 Secrets to the best night’s sleep ever (and why it matters) by Margaret Feinberg (@mafeinberg) 

As someone who struggles with getting a good night’s sleep this blog post caught my eye. It has some simple suggestions for getting more sleep.  I’d love to say more, but zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

While you’re looking at Margaret Feinberg’s blog, have a look at the vimeo of Banff National Park – beautiful!

Engaging your kids in discussing their day  One of the great challenges of parenting is getting your kids to talk about their day.  Michael Kelley (@_MichaelKelley) gives some good suggestions to get that conversation going.

Thanks to Grover Bradford (@pastorgrover) for linking me to this interesting report The importance of family dinners.Through graphs and discussion, this report shows the value of having regular family dinners with our teenagers.  It looks at links between the frequency of family dinners and:

  • the quality of teens’ relationships with their parents
  • how much parents know about what’s going on in their children’s lives,
  • the likelihood of teens’ marijuana, alcohol and tobacco use.

Also thanks to Grover Bradford, who linked a post on Teen and Social Technology: Searching for Intimacy   byAndrewZirschky. The first in a three part series on engaging teenagers in the digital age.

Having kids on stage by Dan Scott (@danscott77)

Dan Scott encourages us to get children involved in storytelling and gives some simple ideas on how to do it.

And on twitter:

  • #chsocm describes itself as ‘content & conversation about using social media for church & faith. Ecumenical’ This is a great address if you are interested in how we can use social media in the church. I’ve only just discovered it, and I love it.
  • @StMichaelsSH – I am so excited to see my home church finally join twitter.
  • I realised while I was writing this how many things Grover Bradford points me to on the internet, so you might like to follow him on twitter @pastorgrover

Have a great week, God bless, Kaye

This entry was posted in Family ministry, great resources, Kids ministry, Leading Kids' Ministry, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment